Get Out of My Way

December 2, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Reverb10 Prompt #2

December 2 Writing

What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta- focusmanifesto.com)

I’m adding a twist here- every day I will answer this question in the style of a blogger I love and admire.

So, I’m going to answer today in tribute to Hyperbole and a Half. Click image to enlarge.

Dear Allie

Thanks for doing what you do and way better than anyone else who does a similar thing to what you do. In a strange way, knowing that you’re out there, surrounded by rats and neurotic dogs, with a boyfriend munching away on a tortilla and petrified oatmeal on the couch while you work on these epic masterpieces about how a fish ruined your childhood, makes me feel so comforted- especially in the middle of a dull and dour day.  There is good-hearted, creative madness out in the world and you bottle it up so well. I hope someday, someone with a great deal of money drives up to your den of crazy in a very long limousine and offers you millions of dollars to just keep doing what you’re doing- hold out for more, please.

Sincerely,

Judi

Entry filed under: Random Bits.

2010: One Word Rever10- Wisdom


About This Lady

I am a writer who has lived in DC, Los Angeles and Chicago. In the morning, I write novels. During the day, I write ads, brochures, websites and blogs. At night, I don't do any writing because that's too much writing.

Trying to be Auntie Mame but right now I feel more like Liz Lemon in execution. It's a process, people.

I have a food/fiction blog called Some Kitchen Stories.

Twitter

My Brother is Awesome

Set an Example

BlogWithIntegrity.com

