2010: One Word

December 1, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Reverb10 Prompt #1

December 1 One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

It’s ironic that my word for 2010 should be so different from 2009 (when I was unemployed and drowning in the horrors of being unemployed)- work.

This is the first word that sprung to mind. If my mind was a tag cloud, it would be the biggest- it would swallow, overlap all of the others. This year, I worked. I dug into the second book with the day-to-day dedication that my first book lacked. I attacked my goals, my aspirations, my own person with the kind of sweat-inducing introspection that makes you, eventually, very unattracted to the sound of your own voice. I worked for money, more so than I’ve ever worked for money before, sometimes to ridiculous lengths and sometimes so much that I slid down the wall of my new, cheaper apartment bedroom and had that moment where you wonder what, exactly, you’re striving so hard for- I was working just to work, to wake up and work more. Work, work, work.

In a recession year, I was reminded often to be grateful for this. And I am. It does not make me less tired.

A word to capture 2011- more. I hope it’s more. I hope I travel more and laugh more and plan more. I hope the book is done and it’s more than the last one. More blessings, more luck, more chances. I don’t care if it sounds greedy- next year, I want more.

Entry filed under: Random Bits.

Apropros of nothing Get Out of My Way


About This Lady

I am a writer who has lived in DC, Los Angeles and Chicago. In the morning, I write novels. During the day, I write ads, brochures, websites and blogs. At night, I don't do any writing because that's too much writing.

Trying to be Auntie Mame but right now I feel more like Liz Lemon in execution. It's a process, people.

I have a food/fiction blog called Some Kitchen Stories.

Twitter

My Brother is Awesome

Set an Example

BlogWithIntegrity.com

