“Don’t be a guy. Be a MAN.”*

July 12, 2010 at 2:42 pm Leave a comment

W: Rebecca, would you label Jon a man’s man or a ladies’ man?

Rebecca Hall: I don’t know. He’s proper manly, like Gregory Peck, old-school. He hangs around with the boys and does sports. But can he talk to women about emotions and shoes?

Jon Hamm: Absolutely. Can and do. I was raised by a single mother. I think the definition of a man’s man has shifted in recent times to this sort of fratty bro, different from the older version, which was aloof and distant—Gary Cooper or Cary Grant or James Bond. Now it’s a little vulgar, kind of lowbrow, adolescent. I’m not that guy. Part of being an adult is treating women like women.

Rebecca Hall: The grand pendulum has swung backwards a little bit. Women are allowing themselves to be objectified as “empowerment.” I suppose to some degree you have to go through that phase of, like, “Look, I can make myself a sexualized object.” Still, I just hope that it’s okay for women to read and be bright and talk about interesting things and be sexy.

Jon Hamm: To be able to read and talk about complicated things is sexy. It’s not just having a pair of bolt-on tits.

I know, right? Like you needed another reason to fall in love with Jon Hamm? And now we learn that he likes his girls smart to boot. Is PAINFUL.

Read more here.

*

Entry filed under: Random Bits.

M & L Wedding My brother hates his birthday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About This Lady

I am a writer who has lived in DC, Los Angeles and Chicago. In the morning, I write novels. During the day, I write ads, brochures, websites and blogs. At night, I don't do any writing because that's too much writing.

Trying to be Auntie Mame but right now I feel more like Liz Lemon in execution. It's a process, people.

I have a food/fiction blog called Some Kitchen Stories.

Twitter

My Brother is Awesome

Set an Example

BlogWithIntegrity.com

