I look ridiculous right now.

July 6, 2010 at 4:03 pm 1 comment

Last night I got a haircut.

I dislike doing this for several reasons: 1) I hate small talk. 2) All hair stylists want to talk about is their boyfriend or your boyfriend. I thought that by going to a salon in the dregs of Wicker Park, where my stylist was studded with enough piercings and tattoos to make Motley Crue say, “Whoa girl. Settle,” that I could avoid this but it was still the first question out of her mouth. REVELATION: All hair stylists are the same, no matter how much Manic Panic is in the room. 3) I hate my hair.

She cut it, it looked cute and it was late enough last night that I thought I could avoid a shower this morning and be ok at work the next day. I was erroneous. By 7am, my hair (a mere TWELVE HOURS LATER) was starting to show signs of greasy overtones.

I thought I could solve this by dumping baby powder on it. This worked well in the past. I ran out the door to work, whistling on my way.

Got to work. I then looked at my reflection in the mirror of the office bathroom and thought, “I was a bit overzealous.” The top of my head was gray. Like I had just walked out of one of those paintings in The Haunted Mansion ride at Disney World. Attractive. I doused it with water. This made it stringy again. And still gray.

Only I could ruin a haircut at this magnitude. This is why, in case you were wondering, women’s magazines are still in circulation. The next time you wonder, “Who needs a monthly article on ‘jeans that fit every body type’ EVERY MONTH, INSTYLE?” only need to conjure up an image of me with a white head and a wet paper towel, frantically trying to pull myself out of a vanity hole that most girls have known to avoid since the 10th grade.

Entry filed under: Random Bits.

Smile it up, you bastard Thank Jon Wood for this…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen @ SecondCitySoiree  |  July 7, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    I think I know which salon you mean, and I too had a bad experience there…let me know if you need the name of someone who can fix it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About This Lady

I am a writer who has lived in DC, Los Angeles and Chicago. In the morning, I write novels. During the day, I write ads, brochures, websites and blogs. At night, I don't do any writing because that's too much writing.

Trying to be Auntie Mame but right now I feel more like Liz Lemon in execution. It's a process, people.

I have a food/fiction blog called Some Kitchen Stories.

Twitter

My Brother is Awesome

Set an Example

BlogWithIntegrity.com

