True Story

July 1, 2010 at 3:18 pm Leave a comment

Photo Credit: Magda.Indigo

The meanest thing anyone ever said to me was that I smelled like garlic when I slept.

It was my college roommate and it was in response to how much of the stuff I was currently using in my cooking in our apartment (I’m Italian. Garlic is air.) “I can smell it when you’re sleeping,” she sniffed derisively. Which a) is creepy and b) I was SO upset to hear this. Does anyone want to hear this? That they’re some kind of freak who secretes garlic FUMES from their body as they sleep?

This morning, I made an egg white omelette and I must’ve used more garlic than I thought because as I pulled it from the microwave (reheated at the office), I whispered to myself, “garlicky thunder.” Yes. I actually said this to myself. No, I don’t know why but I’ve been laughing at it to myself ever since. I highly recommend trying it, especially in a whisper.

In case you were wondering…

Garlicky Thunder Omelette

2 Egg Whites
Salt and Pepper
Broccolini (3 stems)
Garlic (minced)
Olive Oil

Saute broccolini in pan with a drizzle of oil, covered until cooked through and a bit limp. Add garlic. Whisk together egg whites. Remove broccolini, oil pan, and cook egg whites until firm on bottom. Slip broccolini and garlic on top, fold into omelette. Whisper “garlicky thunder” as you decimate your delicious breakfast.

Entry filed under: Delicious, Random Bits. Tags: , , .

The Kids Clarity

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About This Lady

I am a writer who has lived in DC, Los Angeles and Chicago. In the morning, I write novels. During the day, I write ads, brochures, websites and blogs. At night, I don't do any writing because that's too much writing.

Trying to be Auntie Mame but right now I feel more like Liz Lemon in execution. It's a process, people.

I have a food/fiction blog called Some Kitchen Stories.

Twitter

My Brother is Awesome

Set an Example

BlogWithIntegrity.com

