Thank You CBS

June 15, 2010 at 1:02 pm 2 comments

Dear CBS,

Thanks for greenlighting the new CBS pilot Mike and Molly.

First and foremost, you were brilliant enough to realize that Melissa McCarthy is one of the funniest television actors on the planet. Then, you recognized that I am still personally devastated by Samantha Who’s cancellation and stepped up to fill that void in my soul. It’s like television killed my dog and then gave me a kitten with one eye to make me feel better.

Most importantly, however, thank you for resisting the typical urge of studio heads to take a show that centers around people who are overweight and not calling the show something derogatory and subtly nasty, or something that sounds cute but is actually just one more dig about being larger than a size four.  Titles like The Biggest Loser.  Or Less Than Perfect. I appreciate you biting your lip and not suddenly shouting out in the development meeting, “Let’s call it Fatty Like Cake!” Everyone laughs and nods appreciatively. “It’s so good of us to put on a show like this. With REGULAR PEOPLE.”

Anyway. Hopefully the show will be good. Hopefully, under James Burrows’ gentle, Emmy-winning hands, it will be a show about two human beings and not a 30 minute version of Monica’s fat-suit dance.

Fingers crossed…

Sincerely,

Judi

PS. To ABC Family- Thank you so much for creating a show about teenagers at “fat camp.” But not sure how I feel about you calling it Huge. Seems like that was just a little too easy. Then again, since you cancelled 10 Things I Hate About You, I’ve been calling you Suck so I guess we’re even.

Entry filed under: TV. Tags: , , , , , .

TV: I am so tired of cops, lawyers and doctors Homemade Granola

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Annah  |  June 17, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Wow this show REALLY does look good. I love Melissa McCarthy. She’s super witty. THanks for including the little trailer 🙂

  • 2. JC  |  June 17, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I know right? I’ve loved her since Gilmore Girls.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About This Lady

I am a writer who has lived in DC, Los Angeles and Chicago. In the morning, I write novels. During the day, I write ads, brochures, websites and blogs. At night, I don't do any writing because that's too much writing.

Trying to be Auntie Mame but right now I feel more like Liz Lemon in execution. It's a process, people.

I have a food/fiction blog called Some Kitchen Stories.

Twitter

My Brother is Awesome

Set an Example

BlogWithIntegrity.com

