This is sweet…

June 10, 2010 at 1:38 pm Leave a comment

I have mixed feelings for A.V. Club– a part of me loves the site and yearns for it to say nice words about the pop culture things (movies, music, TV) that I love. Like this.

And the other part of me feels like I’m sitting by as my favorite professor disparages Little Women for an hour, making all true, very valid points that have me feeling softer or more guilty for loving it so in the first place… and angry at him for, you know, completely missing the point.

Like Anthony Bourdain being less-than-impressed about one of the greatest restaurants in the world and then admitting that his very job has led him to have a view of the food world that is very different from where he started and very different from how the rest of us see it. The things that we enjoy, he enjoys far less or is numb to them.

Anyway. This is still pretty damn sweet.

Finding love at The A.V. Clubby Josh Modell  June 10, 2010

It came to our attention early this week that two of our longtime commenters, Phel and Prison Wine, were married last weekend. Phel confirmed to us that the two actually met in the hallowed pages of The A.V. Club comments, and we couldn’t be more tickled. Congratulations to them. (And if you have anything even remotely mean to say about this pleasant occasion, we’re going to delete your comments–our special gift to the newlyweds.)

Entry filed under: Random Bits.

Because apparently you need reminding, World

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About This Lady

I am a writer who has lived in DC, Los Angeles and Chicago. In the morning, I write novels. During the day, I write ads, brochures, websites and blogs. At night, I don't do any writing because that's too much writing.

Trying to be Auntie Mame but right now I feel more like Liz Lemon in execution. It's a process, people.

I have a food/fiction blog called Some Kitchen Stories.

Twitter

My Brother is Awesome

Set an Example

BlogWithIntegrity.com

